Planning & Zoning Advisory Board

The Planning and Zoning Board is a volunteer board consisting of seven members. Six members of the Planning and Zoning Board reside in the Town of Harrisburg, and one member represents the Extra-Territorial Jurisdiction, or ETJ, of the Town of Harrisburg. The Planning and Zoning Board makes recommendations to the Town Council on rezoning cases, major subdivisions, and text amendments to the Unified Development Ordinance. The Planning and Zoning Board does not make final decisions; they are an advisory board whose purpose is to make recommendations to the Town Council regarding land use decisions.
The Planning and Zoning Board also acts as the Board of Adjustment. The Board of Adjustment hears all variance cases, Conditional Use permit requests, and appeals of the Zoning Administrator's decisions. This Board acts as a quasi-judicial body, and makes a final decision on all of the cases brought before them. All documentation brought before the Board of Adjustment must be provided in the form of evidence, and all speakers at a Board of Adjustment meeting are sworn in before providing testimony.
Meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. View the current information packet.
Staff Liaison: Josh Watkins, Planning & Zoning Dept. Director,
Town Council Liaisons: Christopher Barfield, John Booth (alt.)
Planning and Zoning Board members:
Andy Rathke
Thelma Thorne-Chapman
John Overcash
Lloyd Quay
Steve Bedwell
Scott Noel
Rodney Garner